Candidates Finalized for Westford Town Election


The deadline has come and gone. Now Westford officially knows who will be running for town offices this May.

Nomination papers have been submitted and it appears there will be three contested races out of the six races on the ballot.

Challenger Anthony Martinez obtained certification for his nomination papers to run for the Board of Selectmen on deadline day. He will face off against incumbents Scott Hazelton and Andrea Peraner-Sweet to see who will obtain a pair of three-year seats on the board.

WestfordCAT News could not obtain a comment from Martinez on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Further down the ballot, Board of Health Incumbent Susan Hanly will go against challengers Stephanie Granger and Anastasia O’Malley for two three-year seats.

Planning Board Member Katherine Hollister will also attempt to keep her place in a race against challenger Uri Blumenthal for one five-year seat.

Carol Engel of the Housing Authority, Elizabeth Diercks and Kathleen Canavan of the Library Trustees and Arthur Benoit and Tom Clay of the School Committee have no announced challengers.

Election Day is Tuesday, May 3. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The deadline for voter registration is Wednesday, April 13 at 8 p.m. More information on voter registration is available on the Town Clerk’s page on the town website.

WestfordCAT also welcomes and encourages any candidates on the ballot in Westford to record a “Candidate Minute.”



Vote Today!

Today is Election Day in Westford. There is a debt exclusion on the ballot, raising property taxes to build a new, central fire station.

Municipal officers will also be elected. The race for School Committee is the only contested race.

Office # open positions Length of term Names appearing on ballot
Selectmen 1 3 years Mark Kost
Board of Health 1 3 years Helen Fu
Library Trustees 2 3 years Marianne C. Fleckner

Susan M. Flint

Planning Board 1 5 years Dennis J. Galvin
School Committee 3 3 years Avery Adam

Terence J. Ryan

Christopher Sanders

Pranav Mulpur

Westford Candidates


The WRTC will host a meet & greet for all candidates for municipal office on Saturday, April 11, 2015. The gathering will take place at the J. V. Fletcher Library main meeting room, lower level, beginning at 11:30 am, concluding by 12:30 p.m. The public is welcome.

Candidates will talk one-on-one with members and the public. Meet your Board of Selectmen candidate, Mark Kost and School Committee candidates, Avery Adam, Terry Ryan, Christopher Sanders and Pranav Mulpur. Planning Board incumbent, Dennis Galvin, will also answer your questions.

The municipal election is Tuesday, May 5th. Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

In addition to election of municipal officers, the ballot will ask the following:

“Shall the Town of Westford be allowed to exempt from the Provisions of Proposition 2 and 1⁄2, so-called, the amounts required to pay for the bonds issued in order to design and construct a new Center Fire Station on the town-owned parcel of land on Boston Road, north of Blakes Hill Road, including equipment and furnishings and all other costs incidental and related thereto?”