Republican O’Connor wins South Shore Senate special election


The results from Weymouth blew open a nick-and-tuck election race in the Norfolk-Plymouth Senate District and gave Republican Patrick O’Connor a 2,000-vote lead over Democrat Joan Meschino.

With only Hull left to report, that lead appears to be insurmountable. O’Connor has 58 percent of the vote.

The winner will succeed Robert Hedlund, a Weymouth Republican who held the seat for 22 years. He resigned in December after he was elected mayor of Weymouth.

The winner will serve out the rest of Hedlund’s final term, which ends in January 2017, and will have to run again in November to win a full two-year term.

O’Connor, the Weymouth Town Council president, worked for eight years as Hedlund’s legislative director.

Meschino is a non-profit executive and former Hull selectman.

The district includes Cohasset, Duxbury, Hingham, Hull, Marshfield, Norwell, Scituate and Weymouth. A Weymouth resident has held the seat since 1971.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s